A Scriptural Stream of Consciousness Based on Psalm 23

19 01 2015

First, I take absolutely no credit for this; it is the work of my husband.  One night when he couldn’t sleep he got up, and in the wee hours of stillness and darkness, he wrote this.

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall want for nothing.
He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.

He restores my soul

May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you wholly; and may your spirit and soul and body be preserved entirely, without blame at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.  (1 Thessalonians 5:23)

He restores my soul

The God of all grace, who called you by Christ Jesus to his eternal glory, will restore you, establish you, strengthen you, and support you.  (1 Peter 5:10)

He restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil, for you are with me

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  (Isaiah 41:10)

You are with me

“Behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”  (Matthew 28:20)

He is with us

God raised us from death to life with Christ Jesus, and he has given us a place beside Christ in heaven.  (Ephesians 2:6)

He is with us

In him you also are being built together into a dwelling place for God by the Spirit.  (Ephesians 2:22)

He is with us

He says “Here I am, with the children God has given me.”  (Hebrews 2:13, Isaiah 8:18)

He is with us

The mystery which has been hidden for ages and generations but has now been manifested to his saints, to whom God was pleased to make known the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.  (Colossians 1:26-27)

I will fear no evil, for you are with me
Your rod and your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;

You prepare a table before me

“And I confer a kingdom on you, just as my Father has conferred a kingdom on me,  so that you may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom and sit down on thrones to govern the twelve tribes of Israel.”  (Luke 22:29-30)

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

You anoint my head with oil

(a sign of sanctification, dedication, coronation)

You anoint my head with oil

And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee of what is to come.  (2 Corinthians 1:21-22)

You anoint my head with oil

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.  (1 Peter 2:9)

You anoint my head with oil

You were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.  (1 Corinthians 6:11)

You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and loving kindness will follow me all the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever

There are many rooms in my Father’s house. If there were not, would I have told you that I am going away to prepare a place for you?  (John 14:2)

I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever

We know that if the earthly tent we live in is torn down, we have a building in heaven that comes from God, an eternal house not built by human hands.  (2 Corinthians 5:1)

I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever

You, too, as living stones, are building yourselves up into a spiritual house and a holy priesthood, so that you may offer spiritual sacrifices that are acceptable to God through Jesus, the Messiah.  (1 Peter 2:5)

I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever

“For we are the temple of the living God, just as God said: “I will live and walk among them. I will be their God, and they will be my people.”  (2 Corinthians 6:16)

I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever

I also saw the holy city, New Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven, prepared like a bride adorned for her husband.  I heard a loud voice from the throne say, “See, the tent of God is among humans! He will make his home with them, and they will be his people. God himself will be with them, and he will be their God.  He will wipe every tear from their eyes.  There won’t be death anymore.  There won’t be any grief, crying, or pain, because the old order of things has disappeared.”  The one sitting on the throne said, “See, I am making all things new!”  Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”  (Revelation 21:2-5)

Lord God, restore our souls we pray, for you are with us at this table you have prepared for us.  Anoint us with your Spirit as you join us together, building your temple, your dwelling place, that will last forever.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

