1000 Gifts – Day 1

13 02 2013

A few weeks ago I attended a one-day ladies retreat at my church. The theme for the day was “1000 Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are” by Ann Voskamp. We watched her video series and split into small groups for discussion and to go through the study guide.

Among the many thoughts, ideas, and convictions that arose from our time together, one of the most fascinating came from the title, “1000 gifts.” I was intrigued by the idea of coming up with my own list of 1000 gifts, and I made this my challenge for Lent. Each day for the next 40 days I will posting 25 gifts. Some are recent, some are from years past. Some are generic, some are quite specific. Regardless, these are gifts that are precious to me.

1. Being alive
2. Being married to a man of God
3. The laughter of my sons playing together
4. Birds singing on a sunny weekend morning
5. Chimes ringing in the gentle breeze
6. Art made by people I adore and which fills every room in my home
7. A soft memory foam pillow on which to lay my head
8. Post-nap snuggles
9. A dual-heated mattress pad
10. Blue birds, cardinals, wood peckers, robins and blue jays all eating from our bird feeders
11. An entire refrigerator drawer full of WI extra sharp Grassland cheddar and Lynn Dairy mozarella
12. A lush, green backyard
13. My husband’s garden-grown lettuce
14. The creaking rocking chair in my living room that my grandpa used to sit in
15. Hummingbirds fighting over the feeder hanging from our pergola
16. Neighbors unexpectedly bringing over a homemade sweet treat
17. The smell of bacon frying in the kitchen
18. Hugging Caleb, the top of his head touches my chin
19. The sparkle in Jason’s eyes
20. A clean kitchen with all the dishes put away
21. Third-generation hosta plants in bloom along the side of my house
22. Watching the trees sway during a powerful storm from my bedroom window
23. The lazy Susan on my dining room table, hand-painted by a dear friend
24. Jason spelling out “God luvs suckerz” with refrigerator magnets (he meant lollipops)
25. Watching Caleb perform on stage with confidence, despite his inner doubt and anxiety

Actions

Information

6 responses

13 02 2013
camdenstables

Shared this on my facebook status and issued a challenge.

14 02 2013
1000 Gifts – Day 2 « To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] Day 1 (and why I’m doing this) […]

15 02 2013
1000 Gifts – Day 3 « To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] Day 2 (and why I’m doing this) […]

16 02 2013
1000 Gifts – Day 4 « To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] Day 3 (and why I’m doing this) […]

17 02 2013
1000 Gifts – Day 5 « To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] Day 4 (and why I’m doing this) […]

18 02 2013
1000 Gifts – Day 6 « To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] Day 5 (and why I’m doing this) […]

Leave a Reply

