First World Issues

7 11 2012

“Give thanks in all circumstances,
for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

-1 Thessalonians 5:18

A few months ago, a friend posted a comment on another’s friend’s Facebook post in response to having to wait a few more days for his iPhone 5 to arrive in the mail.  Friend 1’s impatience was painfully evident.  Friend 2’s response was, “First world problems.”  Since reading that, I have become rather unsettled whenever I ponder what that means.

Here is a sampling of what I’ve read lately—mainly on Facebook, although some were comments on news articles.  There has to be a better way to respond to these First World inconveniences we Americans face.

  • I had to wait to vote! – Thank you, God, for allowing us to live in a country where we have the privilege to vote and choose our leaders with relative comfort, ease, and convenience and without the threat of persecution or punishment.
  • My iPhone hasn’t arrived yet! – Thank you, God, for allowing us to have the resources to afford this kind of technology to make our lives so much easier when an estimated 79% of residents in Third World countries don’t even have access to electricity.
  • The price of gas is ridiculous! – Thank you, God, for allowing us to live in a country that has a stable supply of gas that is also cheaper than most other countries in the world.  (In Norway, the price of gas is over $10.00 per gallon.)
  • When is the hockey lockout going to end?Thank you, God, for allowing us to live in a country where we have such a plethora of entertainment options to keep us busy and occupied.
  • I can’t believe these replacement NFL refs! – Thank you, God, for allowing us to live lives with such simple comforts like a big screen TV on which to watch football.  Eighty percent of the world’s population does not have this simple luxury.
  • My washing machine/dishwasher broke! – Thank you, God, that we have access to clean, potable water that we can use to keep our homes and families healthy and sanitary, even if we have to wash by hand.  Over 2.5 times more people around the world lack access to clean water than live in the United States.
  • They are going to raise taxes on millionaires!  Thank you, God, that we are fortunate to have an income that is in the top 0.15% of all the world’s wealth, and even if the government took half of it, we’re still ridiculously blessed with more money than 99% of the world’s 7 billion people.

To be fair, I’ll include some of my own.

  • The interstate was backed up, and it took me an hour to get home! – Thank you, God, for allowing us to have not just one, but three vehicles that run so I don’t have to walk miles and miles to make a living for my family.
  • That guy took my parking space! – Thank you, God, for a healthy body that is able to walk that extra block because I had to park farther away.
  • There’s nothing I want to eat in my house! – Thank you, God, for allowing me to have an abundantly stocked refrigerator and pantry.  Thank you for allowing me to live a life in which I will never know what it is like to truly be hungry.

What First World issues do you struggle with complaining about when you should be giving thanks?

Actions

Information

7 responses

7 11 2012
Tyanne

I love your post Kelly, it’s so very true. We should all be more thankful. And realize that we are very lucky and blessed.

9 11 2012
burruss

This is soo true!

9 11 2012
findyoursnap

I’m thankful that we have first world problems… we complain wayyyyy too much!

9 11 2012
waylandms

So true! We are all so blessed!

9 11 2012
anawefullybigadventure

These made me laugh soooo much, but all make so much sense. It’s funny how we are so snippy about insignificant matters.

15 11 2012
ashleyconsumedbywanderlust

oh gosh i relate to all of these!! hahaha 🙂

24 11 2012
Jean

Great post. Much to always be reminded of.

Leave a Reply

