Rebuked by a 4-Year-Old

10 10 2012

Jason, my 4-year-old, recently learned a new song.  Its lyrics are simple:

“When something’s bad,
Turn it around,
And find something good.”

It’s a catchy little ditty, and there are motions, too!

Jason has been singing this a lot.  A.  LOT.  And for this, I am grateful.

The other day, I was driving around Belmont University, trying to find a place to park so that I could drop Caleb off for his choir rehearsal.  I had been sharking one particular spot; I saw the lady get in her car, and I thought she was going to leave.  However, she got on her phone and chatted away.  I realized I could pull up behind her without hindering traffic—it was a street spot—and just wait for her to leave.

On my third go around the circle, I was just feet from her when a huge monster truck (not quite) made an illegal U-turn in front of me and claimed MY space.

What came out of my mouth next would have made a sailor blush.

I have to back up and offer a little bit of history.  My dad and much of my extended family can cuss with the best of them.  Traffic and technology tend to be our main triggers.  We often joke of the “Knutson gene,” but our short tempers and rough language are no laughing matter.  I grew up in a family where the F- and S- and many other inappropriate words were used as verbs, nouns, adjectives, and adverbs.  These words were a part of my daily vocabulary.

Having a short fuse and responding to that fuse with cussing was only natural.  That’s what was modeled to me from as young as I can remember.  Didn’t everyone respond that way?

Only after becoming a follower of Christ in my early 20s did I really begin to understand how ungodly this was.  I have been battling this generational curse for close to 20 years now.  I have definitely made progress in controlling my temper and language, but I honestly think this curse will plague me till the day I meet my maker.

Despite my deep conviction that I do not want to pass this curse on to my children, I get so caught up in it at times, it makes my head spin.  Thankfully, I have done one thing right in this; I have trained my children to rebuke me on this when it happens.  And thankfully^2 God has given me two sons who are not afraid to do that.  And thankfully^3, so far neither one seems to be carrying this cursed “Knutson gene.”  In fact, Caleb used to get so upset at my getting upset that he would cry.

Need to be convicted?  Have your child cry over your sin.

So there I was, cussing up a storm when Jason piped in from the back seat, “Mommy, you shouldn’t say that.  When something’s bad, you need to look for something good.”

Boy, did that stop me in my tracks.

Was I just rebuked by my 4-year-old?  Yup.
Did he just me tell me my behavior was ungodly  (in so many words)?  Yup.
Did he just offer me a better way to respond?  Yup.

I could hear angels in heaven rejoicing over this precious young heart.  I could also picture God shaking his head at me wondering, “Kelly, Kelly, Kelly.  Of all the things in this universe you can get upset about . . . a parking space?  Really?!?!?”

I immediately asked forgiveness from my sons and from God and thanked Jason for telling me that what I did was wrong.  I want to do better.  I need help to do better.  I’m so thankful my little ones can help me do better.

“A little child shall lead them.”
Isaiah 11:6

Actions

Information

7 responses

13 10 2012
jezioroj

Nice! I always show my little bro Pink Floyd songs that sound really innocent and infantile. I guess he’s not learning life lessons from them yet but good for Jason!

13 10 2012
findyoursnap

Your kids are so cute and smart! It’s amazing how well the follow the Lord at such a young age.

14 10 2012
waylandms

Such sweet boys!!

14 10 2012
burruss

That’s so cute!

15 10 2012
ashleyconsumedbywanderlust

awww he is so cute! and that story is adorable!

28 10 2012
anawefullybigadventure

ohhh, this is a cool story. I can see the whole scene playing out in my head, it’s very funny!

21 11 2013
gordongra

I love this! Although I understand what you’re going through when people don’t immediately leave after they get in their car, That gets on my nerves too.

Leave a Reply

