40 Things

20 09 2012

 

40 & Fabulous

40 & Fabulous

I turn 40 today, and until a short while ago, I dreaded being that number.  It was so old.  Half of my life was over.  Then it hit me . . . I was at the age where I realized I turned into my parents.  Upon reflection I realized that wasn’t a bad thing.  How blessed am I to be able to say that?My attitude began to turn around from being negative and dreading this birthday to wanting to celebrate in grand fashion, which we did.

As the day approached, I also began to think about the next half of my life.  What do I want to accomplish?  Who do I want to be?

So being an ultra-organized, detailed-oriented, goal-setting, to-do queen, I did what came naturally.  I created a list.

This wasn’t merely a Bucket List.  I already have one of those.  There is a difference in this new list and my bucket list.  My new list is realistic.  My bucket list isn’t.  For example, I really want to throw a live grenade and watch something blow up.  I know that will never happen.

My new list is comprised of things I want to do in the next 40 years of my life.

Physical
1.       Do 40 military style pushups at one time, no breaks.
2.       Successfully finish a Tough Mudder.
3.       Swim freestyle for 50 meters without stopping.
4.       Run a sub 30-minute 5K in an actual race.
5.       Do P90x ab ripper at least twice each week, preferably three times.
6.       Bike once each week.
7.       Run two-three times each week.
8.       Swim once each week.
9.       Always remember to wear sunscreen.
10.   Hike the Appalachain Trail.
11.   Still be able to do 180° right and left leg splits 40 years from now.

40 & Fabulous (and still quite flexible)

40 & Fabulous (and still quite flexible)

Diet/Nutrition

12.   Eat at least two servings of fruit each day.
13.   Eat at least two servings of vegetables each day.
14.   Remember to take all my supplements each day—multi vitamin, calcium/Vitamin D, fish oil.
15.   Cut back to one sweet/dessert item each day (except on birthdays).
16.   Try one new recipe each month.
17.   Drink more water.

Spiritual

18.   Fast 40 hours straight once each week.
19.   Memorize one scripture each week.
20.   Give half my income away, probably through Compassion International child sponsorships.
21.   Teach my children to pray in all circumstances.
22.   Teach my sons the importance of sexual purity and protecting and honoring their bodies and the bodies of any girls/women they have relationships with.
23.   Watch my sons grow into their own faith in Christ.
24.   Go on a mission trip.

Mental

25.   Get my MBA.
26.   Get my PhD.
27.   Not go crazy.
28.   Read on average one book per week.
29.   Become fluent in another language.
30.   Learn to play the piano.

 Miscellaneous

31.   Have a weekly date with my love.
32.   Play more games with my family.
33.   Visit all the Wonders of the World.
34.   Travel to a new country each year.
35.   Grow my hair out to my wedding day length.
36.   Join a community choir.
37.   Watch no more than 1 hour of TV each night, except when Dancing with the Stars goes for two hours.
38.   Re-invent/re-paint/re-design several rooms in my home.
39.   Build a library with floor to ceiling book shelves in my home and fill it with great literature.

Most Important

40.   Remember that each day is a gift and to live a life that reflects how grateful I am to be alive.

Actions

Information

12 responses

21 09 2012
anawefullybigadventure

I love your set of goals, my favorite being how that you see everyday as a gift and being grateful for being alive. Happy Birthday!

21 09 2012
huddlestonk

Thanks Nick.

21 09 2012
ashleyconsumedbywanderlust

i want to see a wedding picture! how long was your hair?! happy birthday!!

21 09 2012
huddlestonk

Ashley, check out https://tokickapigeon.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/remembering-hosea/. There is a slideshow of my wedding pix.

21 09 2012
findyoursnap

Wow! I’m so impressed you can still do the splits and that you’re still so healthy!

22 09 2012
burruss

Those goals are amazing! Half that stuff seems so hard!! Happy Birthday!

26 09 2012
40 « To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] week, and I have been reflecting on that number a lot lately.  First, I came up with a list of 40 Things  I want to accomplish in my next 40 years.  Today, I am reminded of the biblical significance of […]

5 10 2012
anawefullybigadventure

I want to learn play the piano too!

8 10 2012
jezioroj

Happy late birthday!

5 09 2013
gordongra

You’re goals are very inspirational! Are you going to add onto this list again for your birthday? It’s coming up and I will probably always remember this because your birthday is the day before mine! I would like to make a list as well but I have to be completely honest, I don’t think I can handle even 18 goals but I will definitely try 🙂

6 09 2013
huddlestonk

Thanks Grace! We’ll have to celebrate in class. I bet you can come up with 18 goals. The key is to make most of them easy with only a few challenging ones. 🙂

23 10 2013
Lessons of a PR | To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] and actually wound up winning my division (female 40-44 years old). I can check another item off my 40 Things list, and I’m getting closer to checking off item #14 on my life-long bucket list, running an […]

Leave a Reply

