Dear Caleb,

28 11 2011

Dear Caleb,

I once told God I NEVER wanted children.  Then I had you.

Once pregnant, I told God I wanted a girl.  Then I had you.

I told God I didn’t want to be in the hospital on Thanksgiving.  Then I had you . . . on Thanksgiving Day.  Truly, what better day to have a baby boy than on a day that celebrates giving thanks to God for our many blessings?

I can’t tell you enough how thankful I am that God did not listen to me.  You’ve heard these stories before, but you are absolutely, 100%, a gift, a miracle, and a blessing beyond measure.

Things that make you so special:

  1. You love God with such a sweet, pure, innocence.  Your faith humbles me, convicts me, and makes me so proud of you.
  2. You have such a sensitive, sweet, caring, spirit that is evident to all.
  3. You adore your little brother and care for him with such sweetness and gentleness.  I will never forget how you held him in your lap and sang “Jesus Loves Me” to him that first night we brought Jason home from the hospital.
  4. You strive to follow God and do what is right.  You already possess great integrity for one so young.
  5. You are quick to apologize when you do wrong and quick to forgive when wronged.  These traits will serve you well as you grow older.
  6. You love Blankey Bear as a real person.  I know some people may tease you unjustly about him, but I cherish the way he is a part of our family.  I smile at the thought of you passing him on to your firstborn someday.
  7. You make me smile every day.

Some of my favorite memories of your childhood.  I remember when . . .

  1. You used to say “an-mi-al” instead of animal, and “breaf-kast” instead of breakfast.
  2. You had to sleep with a little sliver of Kleenex, around age 2.  You would wake up crying if you couldn’t find your Kleenex piece, and we’d get you a new one.  Later, we’d find piles of Kleenex pieces behind your bed.
  3. You were at Maga and Papa’s house—while Daddy and I were in New Zealand—jumping on their bed singing “5 Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed” when you jumped off and broke your arm.
  4. You used to sing “Hi, my name is Joe.”  It would crack us up!
  5. You and Daddy were singing “Puff the Magic Dragon” and you were sad that Little Jackie Paper lost interest Puff when he got older.  You told Daddy that would still like him when you grew up.
  6. You first amazed us at the sound of water slushing around in your stomach after guzzling down a full bottle of water.
  7. You began talking to Daddy about wanting to be baptized because you loved God and wanted to follow him.  Your baptism, at age five, was one of the proudest days of my life.

I love you more than you will ever realize, Caleb.  You have made me a better person by having you in my life.  When I learned I was pregnant with you, God placed this scripture on my heart.

“From birth I was cast upon you; from my mother’s womb you have been my God.” -Psalm 22:10

My prayers for you are that:

  • You always love God.
  • Your greatest desire in life would be to serve Him.
  • You would grow into a man of strong faith and integrity.
  • You would be a friend to all.
  • You would be a man of kindness, compassion, and generosity.
  • You would be as your name defines you:  bold and courageous in your faith.
  • Your talents would serve you and others well.
  • You never lose your sensitive, emotional spirit and learn to use it to bless others.
  • Your weakness would become strengths
  • Your wife would also be all these things.
  • You and your wife will continue the legacy and raise children who love Christ as much as you.

Love, Mommy

Caleb - age 9

Caleb - age 9

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 12 2011
Katie Foster

Awh! This is precious. You should save it and give it to him at his high school graduation or wedding.

4 12 2011
Kory

That’s so sweet!

4 12 2011
shanksr

On the first list number 6 is my favorite!! On the second list, number 2 is HILARIOUS! I love that. And I love love love sweet Caleb.

17 11 2012
burruss

Awh this is so sweet!

Leave a Reply

