Halloween 2011

2 11 2011
Halloween is taken very seriously in the Huddleston home.  (Read my post on Halloween 2010.)  Candy, parties, candy, races, candy, pumpkin carving contests, candy, costumes, and more candy are our focus.  Did I mention candy?

My Halloween season started on October 14 with a Halloween 5K downtown.  I ran in my “running refrigerator” costume.  I didn’t win first place, but I received a nice gift certificate consolation prize anyway.

running refrigerator

running refrigerator - iRun for the Party 5K Oct. 15

inside the running refrigerator

inside the running refrigerator - iRun for the Party 5K, Oct. 15

 

On October 29, I ran a 5 mile race with a group of friends.  Three of dressed up as the “Three Musketeers” candy bars.  My good friend and artist extraordinaire, Devon (Simply Artistic Design), created our costumes.  We didn’t win—we didn’t even make the second round of finalists.  We definitely felt jipped as much less creative, store bought costumes won.

Three Musketeers

Three Musketeers, Halloween Hunt 5 miler, Oc. 29

Due to the chilly weather on the night of October 29 at our annual home church fall party, not too many people bothered with pumpkin carving.  Matthew’s creation, “Jack-in-the-box” pumpkin and Caleb’s “Death Star blowing up Alderaan” won by default.  Our prize?  A bucketful of candy, most of which was chocolate.

Jack-o-Lantern pumpkin

Jack-o-Lantern pumpkin

We capped the festivities off with trunk-or-treating at FRA and later with trick-or-treating in our neighborhood with friends.

FRA's trunk-or-treat

FRA's trunk-or-treat with some of my favorite students

time out at trunk-or-treat

time out at trunk-or-treat (Jason had a melt-down when we told him he couldn't have only candy for dinner)

trick-or-treating

trick-or-treating with friends (Jason was Thomas the Train and Caleb was Boba Fett from Star Wars)

How did you celebrate Halloween?

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 11 2011
tinkerbelle86

thats adorable. maybe enter into my competition? its just for fun 🙂
http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/10/28/competition-alert-who-dresses-the-fanciest/

2 11 2011
huddlestonk

Thanks for reading! I just subscribed to your blog and emailed you my entry pix for your costume contest. 🙂

6 11 2011
shanksr

YAY I love that picture of us with Caleb!! So cute. Everything you did was so creative- the running refrigerator, the Three Musketeers, and the jack in the box jack-o-lantern are my favorites.

6 11 2011
Kory

I love all of your costumes, they are very original. You definitely have a family of very skilled pumpkin carvers. Trunk-R-Treat was sooo much fun I can’t wait until next year!

6 11 2011
Katie Foster

I love Boba Fett! Ah this is great. Love all these costumes. I can’t wait for Trunk-R-Treat again either! (Had issues with comments- didn’t mean to put this on your irrational fears post oops!

1 10 2013
gordongra

Please add more to this Humor section of your blog!!! I love reading this. One of my favorite parts of October is Halloween but I also love how the weather starts to change. Your marathon costumes were awesome and now I’m hungry for some 3 musketeers!

Leave a Reply

