Home Full of Scripture

17 06 2011
One of my goals with my home is to have scripture in each room, something applicable to function of the room.  I’m about half-way done after five years of living here.  This is what I have so far.

Living Room:   Hosea 2:19-20, cross-stitch.  I made this in 1999 for our first anniversary.  This is the scripture that my husband and I have inscribed on the insides of our wedding bands.  It is such an incredible reminder not only of our love for each other as husband and wife, but also of how God loves us.  I may move this our master bedroom once the remodeling is finished.

Hosea 2:19-20

Hosea 2:19-20: "I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you to me in righteousness and justice, in love and compassion. I wll betroth you in faithfulness, and you will acknowledge the Lord."

Dining Room:  Proverbs 30:8, hand painted 30” wood lazysusan.  A friend, Devon Dixon, of Simply Artistic Design,  painted this for us.  I gave her the design, and she created this masterpiece.  This is one of my favorite pieces of art in my entire house.

Proverbs 30:8

Proverbs 30:8 "Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread."

Kitchen:  Ecclesiastes 9:7, canvas.  I created the picture and used a Groupon I purchased for Canvas on Demand to produce the canvas. 

 
Ecclesiastes 9:7

Ecclesiastes 9:7 "Go, eat your food and drink your wine with a joyful heart."

Guest Bedroom:  Numbers 6:24-26, acrylic on canvas.  Devon Dixon also created this beauty for us.  As with the lazysusan, I gave her a photo of what I wanted it to look like, and she did the rest.

Numbers 6:24-26

Numbers 6:24-26 "The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace."

Library:  Romans 12:9-10 and Proverbs 3:5-6, ink on silk.  We purchased these while on vacation in China.  I may have English translations made at some point.

Romans 12:9-10 & Proverbs 3:5-6

Romans 12:9-10 "Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves." & Proverbs 3:5-6 "Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight."

However, I may move these two pieces somewhere else as I really like the following versus on wisdom for the library.

  • Proverbs 3:13, 15, 17, “Blessed is the man who finds wisdom, the man who gains understanding.  She is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire compares with her.  Her ways are pleasant and her all her paths are peace.”
  • Proverbs 4:7, “Wisdom is supreme; therefore get wisdom.  Though it cost all you have, get understanding.”
  • Proverbs 9:9, “Instruct a wise man and he will be wiser still; teach a righteous man and he will add to his learning.”
  • Proverbs 9:10, “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.”

Stairwell:  Collage, ink on cardstock.  This was the first art I made specifically for our new home.  My idea for infusing each room of my house with scripture began with this project.  These are some of our favorite scriptures.

scripture collage

scripture collage

  • Jeremiah 6:16, “Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.”
  • Isaiah 43:18-20, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.  See, I am doing a new thing!  Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?  I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”
  • 1 Samuel 16:7, “The Lord does not look at the things man looks at.  Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”
  • Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”
  • Philippians 4:4-7, “Rejoice in the Lord always.  I will say it again:  Rejoice!  Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”
  • Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
  • Romans 8:38-39, “For I am convinced that neither life nor death, neither angels nor demons, neither the present or the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
  • Psalm 37:4-5, “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.  Commit you way to the Lord; trust in him and he will act.”
  • Ephesians 4:29, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others  up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

Caleb’s Bedroom:  Psalm 22:10, cross-stitch.  When I was pregnant with Caleb, this scripture really stuck out to me, and I have “claimed” this verse for him. 

Psalm 22:10

Psalm 22:10 "From birth I was cast upon you; from my mother's womb you have been my God."

Jason’s Bedroom:  Psalm 103:1, cross-stitch.  This was the verse that really stuck with while I was pregnant with Jason.

Psalm 103:1

Psalm 103:1 "Praise the Lord, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name."

These are the rooms that are left.  I have ideas for the scripture I want, but I have not decided on how best to display them.

Foyer:  I may move the two pieces in the library to the foyer, but I really like Joshua 24:15 for an entry, “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

Guest Bathroom:  I really have no idea what scripture I want here.  I will probably go with something simple like 2 Thessalonians 3:13, “Never tire of doing what is right.”

Caleb’s and Jason’s Bathroom:  I think Psalm 51:7 is appropriate for a young boys’ bathroom, “Wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.”

Playroom:  I like Proverbs 19:20 for this space, “Listen to advice and accept discipline, and in the end you will be counted among the wise.”

Office:  I especially like this Titus passage as both my husband and I are teachers.  Titus 2:7, “In everything set an example by doing what is good.  In your teaching show integrity, seriousness, and soundness of speech.”

Laundry:  I’m thinking of this one for my least favorite room in the house.  From Colossians 3:23, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord.”

Master Bedroom:  I want some type of collage with some of my favorite love versus including these. 

  • Song of Songs 6:3, “I am my lover’s and my lover is mine.”
  • Song of Songs: 4:10, “How delightful is your love . . . How much more pleasing is your love than wine.”
  • Song of Songs 8:6, “Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm.”
  • Proverbs 3:3, “Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart.”
  • Proverbs 31:29, “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.”
  • Psalms 85:10-12, “Love and faithfulness meet together; righteousness and peace kiss each other.  Faithfulness springs forth from the earth, and righteousness looks down from heaven.  The Lord will indeed give what is good.”

Master Bath:  There are a few I like for this room.

  • Proverbs 31:30, “Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”
  • 1 Peter 3:3-4, “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment . . . Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

What are your favorite scriptures?  How do you have them displayed in your home?

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 06 2011
Teach Me Your Way 062111 « Mennonite Preacher

[…] Home Full of Scripture (tokickapigeon.wordpress.com) […]

26 07 2011
Earth’s Farthest Bounds 072711 « Mennonite Preacher

[…] Home Full of Scripture (tokickapigeon.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

