Prayer Cube

17 04 2011

“This, then, is how you should pray:
Our Father in heaven,
hallowed by your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from the evil one.”
-Matthew 6:9-13

In an effort to earn his religious emblem medal for cub scouts, Caleb had to complete a “God and Me” workbook that focused on different aspects of our faith.  One unit was on prayer.  As part of this unit, Caleb had to memorize the Lord’s prayer as well as be able to explain what all of it means.

Each unit also had a craft/game for the boys to design, create, and then play together as a family.  The craft/game for the prayer unit was a prayer cube.  Making it was not complicated for Caleb, though I did help him draw it out on paper.

prayer cube

prayer cube directions

prayer cube

prayer cube

We have since taken to “playing” this game each night when we are together as a family for dinner.  We usually do three or four rounds.  Whatever side lands up, that person has to say that kind of prayer.  For example, when “Thanks” lands up, Caleb prayed, “Thank you God that Papa is coming tomorrow.”  There is one free space where the person can choose whichever type of prayer he wants.  The different sides include prayers to:

  • Help me
  • Help others
  • Apologize/forgive me
  • Give thanks
  • Praise God

 I have noticed several benefits from this simple game:

  1. Our sons are learning that there is more to prayer than just “help me, God.”
  2. The relationships within our family are strengthening.  Especially when I land on the “apology” side, I find I am apologizing more often for things I normally wouldn’t think to apologize for, but definitely need an apology—for example:  being impatient on the road or talking harshly to Caleb or being snippy with my husband.
  3. Even our three-year-old wants in on the fun.  It’s such a blessing to see his sweet heart developing a relationship with his creator through his simple prayers of “Thank you God” or “I’m sorry God” or “I love you God.” 
Actions

Information

2 responses

19 05 2011
A Father's Love

[…] Prayer Cube (tokickapigeon.wordpress.com) […]

8 09 2011
shanksr

This is such a fun idea! I’ll need to try it when I have kids……which is a very, very, very, very long, long, long way away. But still, I like this! It makes kids think and come up with their own ideas while praying, YAY!

Leave a Reply

