2011 Resolutions: BE-attitudes, not DO-attitudes

1 01 2011

I’m a list maker and goal setter to be sure.  I always get excited with the prospect of coming up with new New Year’s Resolutions every year, and this year is no different.  I’ve actually been pondering my 2011 list since November.   (Read my 2010 Resolutions.)

In 2011, I am going to focus on Biblical mandates rather than the typical eat healthier and exercise more resolutions.  I am focusing on BE-attitudes rather than DO-attitudes.

  1. Ephesians 5:1  Be an imitator of God.
  2. Romans 12:1  Be transformed by the renewing of my mind.
  3. Ezekiel 36:26  Give me a new heart and a new spirit.  Remove from me my heart of stone and give me a heart of flesh.
  4. Philippians 4:5  Let my gentleness by evident to all.
  5. 1 Peter 3:3-4  My beauty should be that of  my inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit.
  6. Ephesians 4:2  Be completely humble and gentle.
  7. Philippians 4:11  Learn to be content whatever the circumstances.
  8. Psalms 19:14  The words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart would be pleasing in Your sight.
  9. Ephesians 4:29  Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of my  mouth, but only what is helpful for building others up, according to their needs.
  10. Ephesians 5:4  There will be no obscenity, foolish talk, or coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving.
  11. Titus 2:12  Say no to ungodliness and worldly passions, and live a self-controlled, upright and godly life.
  12. Romans 12:8  Contribute to the needs of others, giving generously.
  13. Proverbs 31:20  I would open my arms to the poor and extend my hands to the needy.
  14. 2 Thessalonians 3:13  Never tire of doing what is right.
  15. 1 Thessalonians 5:13  Live in peace with each other.
  16. Colossians 3:13  Bear with each other.  Forgive as the Lord forgave me.
  17. 1 Thessalonians 5:16  Be joyful always;  pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances.
  18. Colossians 3:16  Let the word of Christ dwell in me richly.
  19. Colossians 3:2  Set my mind on things above.
  20. Psalm 119:37  Turn my eyes away from worthless things.
  21. Philippians 4:7  Let the peace of God which transcends all understanding guard my heart and my mind in Christ Jesus.
  22. Psalms 34:14  Seek peace and pursue it.
  23. Hebrews 12:1  Run with perseverance.
  24. 2 Peter 3:18  Grow in the grace and knowledge of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
  25. Psalm 55:22  Cast my cares on the Lord, and he will sustain me.

 What are your resolutions or goals for 2011?

Actions

Information

5 responses

1 01 2011
Andy

Possibly the BEST list of new year resolutions I’ve seen yet! Thanks for sharing and encouraging! May God bless you and your family abundantly this year as you focus on Him and serve Him!

2 01 2011
huddlestonk

Thanks Andy. I had to prune my list a little, but each of those scriptures really spoke to me in 2011 as things I struggle with and strive to do better in this year. I’ve got it posted on my fridge and I have a copy in my purse that I peruse daily. I have also shared a copy with the members of my home church group so they can hold me accountable and pray with me.

2 01 2011
onmyangelswingandaprayer

WOW! Lofty goals – I will strive to achieve them as well. This year, my primary focus is on forgiveness, I hope to achieve the forgiveness I have received from the Father in Heaven.

I hope that my blog will allow me to stay on track and to develop a group of fellow unforgivers that will journey with me.

Thank you for the post.

Teri
onmyangelswingandaprayer.wordpress.com

2 01 2011
huddlestonk

Thanks for reading Teri. I wish you the best of luck in your journey to forgive as you have been forgiven. I look forward to reading your blog and keeping up with your progress.

10 01 2011
Eveline McNamee

Quite an undertaking! The Holy Spirit can enable us in each of these areas! Keep looking to Him & praising His Name! May God continue to bless you & your family!
Eveline McNamee
PS I was blest with a wonderful Christian husband on New Years Day! I was also blest to have Mark & Dave participate in the ceremony! My brother, Joe, actually married us. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

