Family (part 1)

17 12 2010

In my youth, I couldn’t wait to leave my family.  Decades later, I desperately wish all of us lived much, much closer.  Though I have desired this for many years, especially since having children of my own, our expansive geographical  distance from one another has weighed even more heavily on my heart since the birth of my newest nephew this past weekend.

Robert Benjamin Knutson

Robert Benjamin Knutson, born 12-11-10

My older brother and his wife had their first child on 12-11-10, Robert Benjamin Knutson, a gorgeous baby boy.  My heart longs to hold this child, but being approximately 400 miles apart and working full-time doesn’t make a trip easy. 

I often struggle with jealousy over friends whose families all live nearby (within an hour’s drive).  The parents, siblings, and extended family are around for holidays, weekly family/game/dinner nights, and the births of new family members.  I longed to be in the waiting room while my brother and sister-in-law experienced the miracle of birth.  I longed to have a stream of family waiting for me in the waiting room while I gave birth to my two sons.  I was still very blessed to have both my parents in town for Caleb’s birth, and my mom was around when Jason was born.

God, forgive my selfishness for wanting more and not being content with the blessings you have given me.

I know many people don’t even have that much—no family, no friends, no support group to rejoice with them over the miracle of a new life entering the world. 

I really have nothing to complain about.

I am still so ridiculously blessed by my family—my parents in particular.  There are not enough words or adequate words to express how thankful I am to have them involved with my family as much as they are.  My children adore my parents, and my parents adore them.  I love how they love on each other.  I cherish each visit.

I am reminded of Deuteronomy 5:16.  Honor your father and your mother, as the Lord your God has commanded you, so that you may live long and that it may go well with you in the land the LORD your God is giving you.”  This is the first commandment with a promise (Ephesians 6:2).

One of the reasons my husband I choose the house we did when we built it in 2006 was for the spacious guest bedroom and bath on the first floor.  I do not dread the day when my parents or in-laws may need to move in with us.  I would be honored to provide for them in their later years as they provided for me in my early ones.  I hope this legacy might be passed on my children and then to future generations.

I am sad I didn’t realize what a blessing my family was when I was younger, but I’m glad I know it now.  My prayer is that my children will not grow up blind to this fact as I did.

Actions

Information

One response

18 12 2010
jennifer

We are so happy and excited to hear the news! And, he looks so adorable! Congratulations!!! Jenny, Paul, Lena & Pia

Leave a Reply

