Halloween 2010

1 11 2010
Our 2010 bounty, close to 10 lbs. of candy.

Our 2010 bounty, close to 10 lbs. of candy.

Halloween is a very lucrative holiday in the Huddleston house.  We count on getting enough candy to last us through to Easter.  Of course, six months down the road some of the candy may have turned into a blob of colored sugar, but as long as it is still sugar, someone in our family will eat it.

Our festivities started a few weeks ago when our home church group, the gathering, held its third annual fall party.  We have a potluck dinner, pumpkin carving contest, cupcake decorating and a piñata for the kids, and lots of fun. 

Most kids and adults simply copy off of a pumpkin stencil (and they are usually the ones that win).  Matthew and I try to come up with something creative and original.  We never win despite the obvious superiority of our pumpkins (I’m biased and I’m very competitive).  I often come up with the pumpkin design, but Matthew is the one who does the hard work of making it happen.  Our creation this year was a “Cannibal” pumpkin.  I thought we had a good chance of taking home the prize, but we tied for third.  Creativity and originality lost again to a darn stencil. 

Cannibal Pumpkin, created by Matthew, tied for 3rd place

Cannibal Pumpkin, created by Matthew, tied for 3rd place

Caleb standing over the first pumpkin he completely designed and carved by himself.

Caleb standing over the first pumpkin he completely designed and carved by himself.

I’ve already got next year’s pumpkin in mind.  (Did I mention I’m really competitive?)

This was my entry in the 2009 pumpkin carving contest.  I was very proud of this.  I did all the hot-gluing myself.  However, it didn't even make the top 3.

This was my entry in the 2009 pumpkin carving contest, "Owl pumpkin." I was very proud of this. I did all the hot-gluing myself. However, it didn't even make the top 3.

This was Matthew's entry in the 2009 pumpkin carving contest.  Sadly, it didn't make the top 3 either.

This was Matthew's entry in the 2009 pumpkin carving contest, "H1N1 Pumpkin." Sadly, it didn't make the top 3 either.

Our Halloween festivities continued on Saturday, October 30, with a 5-mile race, the Halloween Hunt, I participated in at Long Hunter State Park.  The morning was sunny and crisp, perfect running weather.  This was mainly a training run for the Ragnar Relay I am running in next weekend.  (I did this 5-mile run Saturday morning, another 5-mile run that night after hosting a dinner party for some colleagues and a third 4-mile run Sunday morning.)

I didn’t care about my time, though I was hoping to finish in less than an hour, which I did.   What I really wanted was to win the costume contest, or at least come in second.  I was a running refrigerator.   I had been working on this costume for about four weeks, and I am really proud of it.  This is the first homemade costume I’ve ever made. 

Running Refrigerator

Running Refrigerator

Running Refrigerator - there's even food inside!

Running Refrigerator - there's even food inside!

Note to self for future use—more padding on the arm holes and make them longer.   They were not quite large enough and resulted in a lot of painful chaffing.  Not a pretty sight.

So 51 minutes later, I finished the race, having run 5-miles wearing a box.  Other than the armpit thing, it was a pretty easy run.

The costume contest took place right after lunch.  I was disappointed that the voting was done in a “Gong Show” manner.  Who got the most/loudest applause won.  I made the top 5, and thought I had a good chance of taking first or second.  The only other creative, original costume was a pair of ladies dressed as the H1N1 “Swine Flu” virus, who eventually took first place.  Second place went to a “Go Go Girl” who literally wore a $20 costume in a bag from Wal-Mart.  Then the judge announced third place, an “Illegal Immigrant.”  The guy who won it was standing right next to me.  He looked at the judge quizzically, then looked at me, and then turned back to the judge and told him, “The refrigerator should have won.”  He then turned to me and repeated, “You should have won.” 

Did I mention I’m competitive?  I tried to keep a smile on my face as I left the area and walked to my car.  Several people stopped me on the way and told me, “You should have won.”  “You were my favorite.”  “You got jipped.”  That made me feel a little better, and the judge later ran up to me with the third place prize, $10.  So I came out ahead in the end since the race entry fee was only $6.  I’ll try again next year. 

Caleb as "Power Man" and Jason as "Bob the Builder"

Caleb as "Power Man" and Jason as "Bob the Builder"

Our festivities concluded on Halloween night with a trunk-or-treat at Lakeshore Christian Church.  Caleb dressed up as Power Man, a comic book superhero he invented about a month ago.  Jason went as Bob the Builder, a recycled costume from when Caleb was that age.  We got a truck-load of candy. 

That makes me very happy.  If it seems like the Huddleston clan is on a sugar rush, you’ll know why.

candy, candy, candy!

candy, candy, candy!

Happy Halloween!

Actions

Information

5 responses

3 11 2010
miceliale

I love your pumpkins! Cannibal Pumpkin is my favorite.

5 11 2010
Hunter Schleicher

What a fun Halloween weekend! The owl pumpkin is my favorite. Good luck in your relay. Let us know how it goes!

5 11 2010
fosseer

Sounds like fun! Your cannibal pumpkin is fab!

5 11 2010
postonj

I particularly love this post! you guys are so creative and it definitely looks like Halloween is a big deal at your house. great pumpkins and great costume! i agree…you should have won 🙂

2 11 2011
Halloween 2011 « To Kick a Pigeon and Other Musings

[…] 2 11 2011 Halloween is taken very seriously in the Huddleston home.  (Read my post on Halloween 2010.)  Candy, parties, candy, races, candy, pumpkin carving contests, candy, costumes, and more candy […]

Leave a Reply

