Lost in Translation

9 09 2010

Matthew and I visited China in 2007.  While there, we discovered why using Google Translator as your sole translation source is not a good idea.  Click on each picture to view a larger version.

Chinglish

This was in the back of an in-flight magazine from Shanghai to Xi'an where they list the songs played on the various channels. I can't decide if "Harmonious Conjugality" or "Hauling Camel" is my favorite.

Chinglish

This was found in the Beijing airport.

Chinglish

I think this was found at the Terra Cotta Warrior Museum outside of Xi'an. I wish I knew what an "areaturnover" line was. I think I would really like to walk it someday.

Chinglish

Sadly, I know too many native-English speaking people who confuse the correct usage of to, too, and two.

Chinglish

Conserve happens!

Chinglish

You may walk. You may run. You may wander. You may stroll. You may saunter. You may stumble. You may even crash. But by all means, do not stride!

I would love for my readers to share your favorite examples of Chinglish, Spanglish, Frenglish, or any other examples of “lost in translation.”

Actions

Information

11 responses

9 09 2010
mistergunner

Oh to be a tourist without a translator. Great Post!

10 09 2010
miceliale

My dad deals with Japanese machines when he works, and he tells me funny stories about the instruction manuals they write. I can’t remember any specific ones, but I’ll try to remember and bring an example Monday. 🙂

11 09 2010
bjmac

http://www.engrish.com/

Mostly Japanese though, I think.

11 09 2010
huddlestonk

Too funny! I love the one menu items. Thanks for sharing Brian.

11 09 2010
chasemor

So funny!

11 09 2010
waylandl

Hahaha I love pictures like this! Anything with a comical translation or grammatical error makes me laugh. I actually have a book at home that is titled “I Judge You When You Use Poor Grammar.” It’s full of pictures of signs with laugh-worthy errors. Despite the fact that they are in English, they are still pretty funny. I’ll have to bring it to school on Monday.

13 09 2010
huddlestonk

Malone,
I would love to see that book. You’ll like my post this coming week. Stay tuned. . .

13 09 2010
rodewaldn

Oh yes, losing things in translation can be very frustrating!

30 09 2010
fosseer

couldn’t these people just put their choices into word, if they were that unsure about how to spell them!

9 10 2011
Kory

Google Translator can be really comical with some of the translations. Those are really funny!

10 10 2011
huddlestonk

We had even more examples, but I can’t find the pictures. 😦 We had a lot of people staring at us wondering why we were laughing and taking pictures of these various signs.

Leave a Reply

