Interview with a Stranger

3 09 2010

I gave my Digital Media class this blog assignment this week:  If you could interview any living person, who would it be and why?  Include a list of 10-15 questions you would ask and include a picture.  I thought I’d participate in this one, but it’s proven much more difficult than I expected.

My short list included some of the standard people:  President Obama and the Pope as well as some Hollywood people—Joss Whedon (creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog) and Nathan Fillion (favorite actor of Whedon’s who starred in Firefly and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog and who is currently known as Rick Castle of ABC’s Castle).

So while I was trying to think of someone, I tuned into The Office, which happens to be the funniest show on TV ever!  I wondered how fun it would be to interview Jim or Pam or Dwight or Michael, only to remember that they are fictional creations (even though I didn’t really specify in the directions to my class that the living person had to be real.)  Other than the story line, I realized I didn’t know much about the history of The Office, so as any good teacher would do, I looked it up on Wikipedia. 

Greg Daniels

Greg Daniels

Wikipedia taught me much.  I learned that the executive director, Greg Daniels, is also a veteran writer of two of my other favorite TV shows:  King of the Hill and The Simpsons.  My whole family is addicted to those two shows.  My two-year-old can hum the theme song to King of the Hill, and “d’oh!” was one of his first comprehensible words.  So on Wikipedia, I found my man—Greg Daniels.

After the first question asking to verify the spelling of his name (as any good student journalist knows) I would ask:

  1. What were you like as a child?
  2. How did you get your start in comedic writing?
  3. If you could write an episode for any show currently on TV (that you haven’t already written for), which would it be?  Why?
  4. Describe the plot of said show.
  5. How did you and your wife meet?
  6. Are you the “comic relief” in your family?  Explain.
  7. How did you and Mike Judge come up with the idea for King of the Hill?
  8. What is your favorite episode of any show that you have written for?  Why?
  9. In a bar fight between Dwight Schrute and Jim Halpert, who would win?  Explain.
  10. What is going to happen to The Office once Steve Carell, who plays office manager Michael Scott, leaves at the end of season seven?

Who would you interview if you had the chance?

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 09 2010
Malone Wayland

Haha Mrs. Huddleston, I’m an Office lover too! I enjoyed reading your post.

7 09 2010
Nik Rodewald

Interesting Choice!

8 09 2010
fosseer

I would love to interview the man who wrote Buffy!

Leave a Reply

