Favorite Verses

8 09 2013

I just began my MBA program at Trevecca Nazarene University where my husband teaches. One of my first assignments was to explain my favorite Bible verse. We could only select one. The Christian Bible is comprised of 66 books, 1,189 chapters and 31,102 verses. My favorite verse really depends on the situation or occasion, but more often than not, simply what kind of mood I’m in.

For this assignment, I chose Daniel 2:21, “He gives wisdom to the wise, and knowledge to the scholars.” I thought that applicable to this academic endeavor.

Here are some of my other favorites.

•Engraved on my wedding band: Hosea 2:19-20, “I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you in righteousness and justice, in love and compassion. I will betroth you in faithfulness, and you will acknowledge the LORD.

•My claim for Caleb upon his birth: Psalm 22:10, “From birth I was cast upon you; from my mother’s womb you have been my God.

•My claim for Jason upon his birth: Psalm 103:1, “Praise the Lord, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name.

•My mantra while I’m running or in a triathlon: Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.

•Best reminder/rebuke when I am being stubborn: Deuteronomy 29:19, “Those who hear the warning of this curse should not congratulate themselves, thinking, ‘I am safe, even though I am following the desires of my own stubborn heart.’ This would lead to utter ruin!

•My prayer for myself when I need to extend compassion, patience, and grace: Ezekiel 26:26, “I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.

•Reminder as a teacher: James 3:1, “Not many of you should become teachers, my fellow believers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.

•The power of team work and community: Proverbs 15:22, “Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisers, they succeed” and Ecclesiastes 3:12, “A cord of three stands is not easily broken.

•On being content: Proverbs 30:8, “Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread,” and Job 1:20, “The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.

For a little humor . . .

Just a few weeks before we got married, Matthew sent me this reference at the end of an email as an encouragement to me: Genesis 29:20, “So Jacob served seven years to get Rachel, but they seemed like only a few days to him because of his love for her.” However, I mistakenly read verse 21 (which is also applicable to a soon-to-be-married couple, “Then Jacob said to Laban, ‘Give me my wife. My time is completed, and I want to make love to her.’”

I could fill up a dozen more pages on other favorite verses. What are some of your favorites?

Actions

Information

One response

12 09 2013
crockarellmag

Great verses Mrs. Huddleston!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

